What’s in a Book?

Yes, I know that overly enthusiastic people can  be annoying, especially when you don’t have, nor do you really want, that thing that has them so pumped.  Can’t they just tone it down a bit, for harmony’s sake?

Hmm. I might be one of those people, I’m afraid, when it comes to the Bible. Fair warning. But honestly, can you imagine a book as described here?

This book contains the mind of God, the state of humankind, the way of salvation, the doom of sinners, and the happiness of believers.

Its doctrines are holy, its precepts are binding, its histories are true, and its decisions are immutable.

Read it to be wise, believe it to be safe, and practice it to be holy.

It contains light to direct you, food to support you, and comfort to cheer you.

It is the traveller’s map, the pilgrim’s staff, the pilot’s compass, the soldier’s sword, and the Christian’s character.

Here paradise is restored, heaven open, and the gates of hell disclosed.

Christ is its grand object, our good is its design, and the glory of God its end.

It should fill the memory, rule the heart, and guide the feet.

Read it slowly, frequently, and prayerfully.

It  is given you in life, will be opened in the judgment, and will be remembered forever.

It involves the highest responsibility, will reward the greatest labour, and condemn all who trifle with its sacred contents.

~ Author unknown

Well, if that’s not enough to blow your socks off! It’s the book I’m reading and studying lately. So, ya, I believe it. But still, I ponder… How could it be so!?

That description goes beyond why I am so taken with this book. So much so that I have begun an evening practice of transcribing scripture into a journal. Some people are writing out the entire Bible! For now, I’m just writing out the letters of Paul, of which there are about 14 (There is agreement on the authorship of 13 but the jury is out regarding the 14th.) I am having a blast doing it.

I find the writing practice meditative and soothing. I can even do it while migraining sometimes – yes, I’ve turned that word into a verb. Transcribing is a great way of slowing down and digesting what I am reading.

I do enjoy analyzing and digging deep into the sacred Word to gain better understanding. But it’s also very nice just to absorb God’s word simply, as written, no questions asked. For me, it’s a time to decompress from the day, turn off social media, and rest the brain. Honestly, I hadn’t expected to enjoy the writing act so much; I was just trying it out because I saw on Facebook that it was a thing. But an hour or two can just fly by.

A colourful spread where I was still testing pens; I’ve landed on a super-fine and smooth Pentel number, with refills available.

I suppose you need to be drawn to writing longhand to begin with. And I do like writing — and everything related: pens (coloured, gels, metallics, fountain, brush, etc.), pencils, fine paper, journals, inks, notebooks, journaling stickers, washi tape, you name it.

I have my eye on capturing the book of Revelations next, because that story is mostly unknown to me. It’s the last book in the Bible, in which Apostle John describes a vision he experienced, and in which he was told to write down everything he sees, so that we all could know the end of our story. I wouldn’t ignore that kind of request either! I am curious about the varied and weird details in that telling, the angels and pillars, the weapons, the massive golden city, the wacky light, the thundering voices, etc… I am intrigued by the art-making potential.

Here I am, entering the last week of my study on The Sermon on the Mount – on God’s upside-down Kingdom. I have enjoyed this morning practice a whole lot. I find that it sets the right tone for the day, a calmness. Next, it will be a study on bible study – sound a little odd, right? Still with Daily Grace Co., it’s called Search The Word – Knowing and Loving God through Intentional Bible Study – and it spans six weeks.

A sponge soaking up all the learning – that’s just what I am at the moment.

p.s. Please ignore the over-enthusiasm!

God bless, M.

Paper napkin collage, with my paraphrase of the Lord’s Prayer (le Notre Pere)

Leave a comment